FOSL logo  
Welcome About Programme Join Contact

Programme 2018

The Friends’ 2018 concert brochure can be downloaded here.

The first event will be on Saturday 24 March at 7.30pm when the Folkestone Choral Society performs an Easter concert featuring Requiems by John Rutter and Philip Ledger.

Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the Friends of St Leonard’s Church will take place on Monday 12 March 2018 at 6.00pm in the north transept of the church. For more information about this meeting, or if you would like to consider joining the Friends committee, please contact Brin Hughes: tel 01303 264470 or email to


Prices (unless otherwise stated): Evening and afternoon concerts £12; lunchtime concerts £7.

Discounted prices for Friends of St Leonard’s Church: Evening and afternoon concerts £10; lunchtime concerts £6. Join here.

Tickets available from Brandon’s Music Shop, 55 High Street, Hythe CT21 5AD (01303 264429) and at church door prior to each concert.

Tickets for some concerts may be bought on-line from this page.

Free admission to those under 18 in full-time education.

Refreshments in Church

Wine bar open 30 minutes before concerts and during any intervals. Light lunches available in church after lunchtime concerts indicated by [L].

Car Parking

If using satnav to reach the church or car park, use postcode: CT21 5DN. A church car park with limited space is located to the east of the building.


Date & time

Special prices



Buy tickets

Saturday 24 March 7.30pm

Folkestone Choral Society Requiems by Rutter and Ledger

Friday 30 March 6.30pm [retiring collection] Shepway Singers Devotions, readings and music for Good Friday  
Thursday 5 May 12 noon [L]   Zoë Peate (soprano), Gary Prior (piano), Paul Newton (trumpet), Bryony Prior (horn)    
Saturday 7 April 7.30pm   James Short – organ recital (Organ Scholar, Exeter College, University of Oxford)    
Saturday 5 May 7.30pm   Festival Chamber Orchestra ‘Venetian Magnificence’ Buy Tickets online
Wednesday 16 May 12 noon [L]   Jamie Moore (guitar)    
Saturday 2 June 7.30pm   Nicholas King - organ recital   Book now
Saturday 7 July 7.30pm   (JAM on the Marsh Festival event)
BBC Singers
Rachmaninoff – Vespers
Rory Boyle – (world premiere)
Buy Tickets online
Sunday 8 July 3.30pm   The Grier Trio   Book now
Monday 9 July 7.30pm   Ashford Youth Jazz Orchestra   Book now
Thursday 12 July 2.30pm   (JAM on the Marsh Festival event) Daniel Cook (Organist of Durham Cathedral) Bach – 48 Preludes and Fugues (selection on organ and piano) Buy Tickets online
Saturday 14 July 10.30am   (JAM on the Marsh Festival event) ‘Come and Play’    
Sunday 15 July 6.30pm [retiring collection] ‘Raise the Roof’  (tbc) Band  
Thursday 26 July 12 noon [L]   Classical Folk – Sylvia Akagi (voice & flute), Andrew Wickens (violin), Peter Golden (guitar)    
Saturday 11 August 7.30pm   Narropera: Dorothee Jansen (soprano), Floriane Peycelon (violin), Haydn Rawstron (piano and narrator) Mozart – Don Giovanni Book now
Thursday 30 August 12 noon [L]   Branco Stoysin (acoustic guitar)    
Saturday 15 September 7.30pm   Eleanor Percy (violin) & Irina Lyakhovskaya (piano)    
Saturday 22 September 7.30pm   Paul Hale – organ recital (Southwark Cathedral Organist Emeritus)   Book now
Sunday 30 September 3.00pm   Festival Chamber Orchestra with Kathryn Jenkin (soprano) ‘The English Soul’ Buy Tickets online
Sunday 14 October 3.00pm   Icknield Trio: Anna Le Hair (piano), Arwen Newband (violin), Sarah Boxall (cello)    
Sunday 28 October 3.00pm   Oliver Nelson (violin) & Vasilis Rakitzis (piano    
Saturday 3 November 7.30pm   Shepway Singers ‘The Golden Age of Polyphony’  
Saturday 10 November 6.00pm   Helen Bailey (soprano), Jim Clements (baritone), tbc (piano) ‘End of Great War Commemoration’  
Saturday 15 December 7.30pm  [retiring collection]   ‘Carols for All’